Prayer update

21 12 2009

Here are a few ways you can pray for me as I get started building a support team.

Thank the Lord with me for:

  • The “tidings of comfort and joy” that we have because God became man for us in the baby Jesus, because this man was born to die for our sins at the cross, and because he defeated death when he rose from the grave.
  • The wisdom of the church in focusing on Jesus’ incarnation and birth during Advent season.  This year has been particularly encouraging for me to hear the Advent carols and the gospel afresh, to remember the mighty deeds of God in giving his Son, to long for the return of Jesus, the King, and to experience him in the present by his Spirit as Emmanuel, God-with-us.
  • The call the Lord has place before me through his church to serve in Kiev, Ukraine.  I am humbled that the MTW Kiev team invited me to join them, and excited to see how the Lord will work through your prayers and support to build his people up, not only in Ukraine but also in your hearts and lives.

Please ask the Lord to give:

  • Practical wisdom to know how much support building work I should reasonably expect to accomplish from week to week while I continue working full-time as a civil engineer.  My plan is to continue my engineering work through 2010, with a goal of full support and moving to Kiev by the beginning of 2011.
  • A good start building a team of supporters during a few support-development days in the Philadelphia–New Jersey–New York City area, and a good time celebrating Christmas and New Years’ with family on the other days.
  • Joy and comfort in the gospel of Jesus.  I have a large task ahead of me, and it can feel a bit overwhelming at times, but as a song I sing with the pre-K kids at church reminds me, “My God is so big, so strong and so mighty, there’s nothing my God cannot do.”
  • Vision to the church plant in Kiev as they plan to begin worship services to reach out to international students.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

