on meeting with people and forgetting my camera

10 11 2010

This past weekend was the MTW Global Missions Conference here in Chattanooga.  About 2,000 people gathered from all across the world to worship God together, hear how he is building his kingdom worldwide, and connect with other missionaries, friends, and supporters.  My grandmother came down from Delaware, friends came from New Jersey and St. Louis, my sister from Berlin to represent the MTW Berlin team, and I forgot my camera.

So I’m glad that at least somebody had a camera there.

praying with James and Debbie

After the close of the conference, while I was praying with James and Debbie, I heard a camera shutter: Bobbi Jo Brooks was at work.  James and Debbie are raising support as I am, but will be serving in south Asia.  Like me, James and Debbie have been working other jobs while raising support, and James was about to begin reduced hours at his counseling job, so that he will have more time for working to develop a team of partners to pray for and support them when they go to south Asia.  Debbie served in Ukraine and was very helpful as I worked through the application process with MTW and found my calling to serve in Kiev.

Larissa at the Berlin table

My sister Larissa had a quick trip from Berlin, Germany, to Chattanooga to represent the Berlin team at the conference.  Providentially, I was at work observing a test until 11:00pm Wednesday night, and when I got off she was at the airport, five minutes from my office.  So I met my parents and Larissa at the airport and got to say hi just a few minutes after she arrived. It was a whirlwind weekend, and Larissa flew back to Berlin 6:00pm Sunday evening.

(I’ve not reduced my engineering hours yet. Please pray that my project work-load allows me to cut back my engineering hours within the next week or so. I need time to follow up with a number of individuals and churches about Ukraine.)

I hosted my team leader overnight at my apartment Saturday evening, and we had a good conversation over breakfast Sunday. All around, the weekend was great, despite my lack of photos.

Thanks for praying!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

