this just in

22 02 2011

Four weeks ago I had a full week of support raising, meeting with an individual Monday evening, two small groups on two separate evenings, and a Ukraine dinner and ministry presentation in Atlanta. Two weeks ago I flew up to the L’Abri conference in Rochester, MN, which I’ve enjoyed attending the past six years. That weekend was an encouraging time of connecting with supporters, old friends, friends I made last year, and new friends–oh, and the conference itself was refreshing as usual. I’m setting up meetings with friends here in Chattanooga and hope to have a ministry presentation at my old church in Atlanta soon. I continue to mail and email pre-call letters out, and follow them up with phone calls for meetings or for support if I can’t travel to where a particular friend lives.

However, I need your help.  I have an aggressive goal of reaching 60% of my monthly support by April. Actually, this is more than aggressive: it will be impossible apart from a my growing team of supporters praying for God to move hearts to give as I work to tell people how God is building his kingdom in Kiev.  So I need you to do two things:

  1. Praise God that with the move of my engineering firm to downtown Chattanooga (3 miles from my apartment instead of 15 miles) I have more time for the Ukraine work before me, and have found a cafe that’s not loud and busy in the late-afternoon where I can focus on my Ukraine work without the distractions of my apartment.
  2. Pray that my work telling people about God’s work in Kiev and my call to serve there will bear fruit.  I believe if God has called me there, his people will give generously in response to the vision of what He is doing in Kiev, provided I tell them.  If I’ve told you about the ministry and you haven’t given, please pray about whether you can join me financially, and let me know if you can.  2 Corinthians 9:6 -8 says,

    “The point is this: whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows bountifully will also reap bountifully. Each one must give as he has decided in his heart, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that having all sufficiency in all things at all times, you may abound in every good work.” 

Know that you have the freedom not to give if God has laid other giving priorities on your heart.  My prayer for you is that you are giving generously–sowing bountifully–somewhere, and that God’s grace will about to you, that you may abound in every good work.  Thanks, friends!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

