ora et labora

30 03 2011

My support raising calendar is filling up.  Its not full–there’s still room for me to meet with you if we haven’t already (email me), but I’ve definitely got more meetings scheduled than a few weeks ago.

God is working through your prayers.  I asked you to pray, and to give.  You’re praying, otherwise I don’t think I’d have all of the following Ukraine meetings scheduled: a small group presentation in an hour tonight, meeting with a couple tomorrow evening, a lunch-time presentation for any interested coworkers this Friday, another small group presentation Sunday, meeting with friends in Knoxville Monday, another small group presentation the next Tuesday here in Chattanooga, and then a Wed. night presentation to my old church in Atlanta from my Georgia Tech days.  Thank you, and please keep praying.

If you noticed, there’s a big gap in my schedule there: next Tuesday through the following Monday, April 11th.  Pray that I’ll find people to meet with, individuals, couples, and small groups.  Pray that those people with whom I’ll meet decide to give generously to partner in sending me to Kiev.  Pray that they tell me or MTW a specific monthly pledge before April 15th.  Just think: they could be the very means God answers our prayers that I reach 60% by the 15th.  Have you made your pledge yet?

Ora et labora. Pray and work.  The Benedictine monks knew something about steady work over time, and over hundreds of years the power of the gospel of Jesus Christ transformed Europe from an appendage of Asia into a powerful center of culture and science that brought much good into the world.    Yet for the monks, their primary calling wasn’t to transform the culture, but to faithfulness in their writing, in their gardening, in their library, in their vespers, in the cultural tasks God called them to.  Sure, they bought into a lot of problematic theology, such as religious callings being better or more valuable than secular, but they got at least two things right: life should center on the grace of God in Jesus Christ (hence their motto, “Pax” or “Peace”), and we’re called to work as well as to pray.  God gives us work, and there’s value in doing that work well, for its sake, because it is a gift from God.

So where does that leave you and me?  We’ve a two part task: to pray and work.  If you’re committed to partnering with me and already praying, thanks!  Are you working?  Are you pursuing your calling faithfully before God?  Have you considered giving of the resources God’s given you to help sent me to Kiev?  I’m working reduced engineering hours and increased support raising for Ukraine: writing, emailing, calling, and telling people how God is building his kingdom in Kiev.  Pray and work with me as we long to see God’s kingdom come, here and in Ukraine.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

