step of faith

3 03 2012

Perhaps I have it a little bit easier than Abraham. When God called him to leave his country, and follow God to a land the Lord would show him, Abraham went, having never seen Canaan before (Genesis 12). In contrast, I’ve been to Ukraine three times, seen some of the needs and spiritual darkness in Kiev, and been called to serve there. However, I feel that I’m taking a huge step of faith, in that I will soon be leaving my civil engineering work to focus full-time on raising my support this spring.

I’m aiming to wrap up my engineering responsibilities within the next three to five weeks.  My last day is a little bit of a moving target: I’ve told my supervisor when I hope to quit, I’m trying to flex as much as possible if the firm doesn’t have my replacement in place, and yet I have to walk in obedience to God’s call toward Kiev.  Pray that the Lord provides a good employee to take over my projects.  Pray that I finish my work with diligence and grace, that I continue to be a blessing in the engineering work were I’ve served 10+ years.

Pray for me as I’m faced with my first round of goodbyes–sure, I’m not moving away from Chattanooga to Kiev immediately, but I won’t see my colleagues daily as I have these past years.  Thank the Lord for his goodness in providing my job, for his goodness in the delightful people I’ve worked alongside, and for his goodness in providing the savings I will be living off of while finishing my support raising.

Finally, pray for me as I step into full time work building my team of financial and prayer partners.  What will I be doing? you may wonder.  Assuming that 10% or so of people will be able to give, and needing 30 to 35 new monthly partners to meet my remaining $1,600 per month support need, I’ve got to present my Ukraine ministry to 300 to 350 new people, and its best to meet in small groups or individually.  That means I’ll be calling churches, small groups, youth groups, and individuals, finding contacts, scheduling meetings, meeting with people to tell them how God is working in Kiev and how they can join in sending me, and following up with those people.  All the while I’ll be sending out thank you notes and my Ukraine prayer updates.

When?  I need to have 80% of my monthly support by April 15, so I can register for MTW’s pre-field training in July. Lord willing I’ll be moving to Ukraine in early August.  So pray for $800/month in new support by April 15th, and the other $800/month by the summer.

Thanks for your crucial role praying and giving: I can’t go unless you help to send me in a manner worthy of Jesus’ name. (3 John 6,7)


Actions

Information

2 responses

3 03 2012
Dawn

It’s not an easy step, but we look forward to seeing you over here in a few months!

3 03 2012
Joel

Thanks, Dawn; I’m looking forward to my team’s welcome and getting to know you guys and the other families there. I just got home from a conference my church here in Chattanooga is co-sponsoring this weekend with the Paedeia Center on the cosmic scope of Christ’s redemption. Hearing Craig Bartholomew address us in the opening lecture on the Christ of Colossae, the rootedness of the church in particular places, and challenging us to think what Christ’s reign looks like in Chattanooga is increasing my desire to see his reign in Kiev.

Leave a Reply

