book = книга

2 04 2012

I stepped into a bookshop in L’viv to purchase a city map during my second visit to Ukraine, in 2008.  I also learned that the Ukrainian word for book is “книга”.  A year later I found myself ducking into another bookshop, this time in downtown Kiev, to buy a map of Kiev showing all the bus, trolleybus, tram, marshrukas (minibuses), and Metro lines.  And I learned that book is also “книга” in Russian.  Later that week, I used my limited handful of Russian phrases in another bookshop, to confirm with the shopkeeper that he didn’t have any Russian Bible’s for sale; so I bought a Russian-English dictionary instead.

Ukraine has a strong literary tradition, and many Ukrainians are quite literate.   The western Ukrainian city L’viv boasted one of Europe’s earliest moveable type printing presses. Following the suggestion of one of the Ukrainian pastors I met in Kiev in 2009, one of my ministry goals in Kiev will be to learn Russian well enough to start a classic literature book club during my time in Kiev.  I co-founded and have been facilitating a monthly classic literature book club here in Chattanooga since 2008 (see today’s newspaper article about our group).  I desire is to serve and love people in Kiev by working to help create a commons around reading and discussing great literature, as I’ve done in Chattanooga.  The relationships that have formed around our common love of reading and discussing great literature have naturally given me opportunities to bear witness to Christ with non-Christians, who I count among my friends.

Please pray for me as I seek my monthly support, 80% by April 15th, full support by the end of June.  I’m eager to use the gifts God’s given me to bear witness to Christ in Kiev, equipping believers and telling non-Christians about God’s steadfast love in Christ.

 


Actions

Information

3 responses

2 04 2012
Hannah

Oh! “To Kill a Mockingbird” and “Pride and Prejudice” are two of my favorites! “The Awakening” = not so much. Takes me back to my days as an English Lit. major…

Anyway, congrats on the article, and, more importantly, I’ll be praying you can learn Russian beyond well enough to lead a book club in Kiev. I think that will be an excellent way to build bridges into hearts and lives.

3 04 2012
Joel

Yeah, I’m glad to have read “The Awakening” and its not one I would have picked up on my own, nor is it a favorite, but that’s part of why I’m in the bookclub: to read important works I otherwise might not bother reading.

Thanks for praying. Learning enough Russian to get a bookclub going is a huge goal and will take a lot of work and prayer, but we have a huge God, right?

3 04 2012
Hannah

Joyful are those who have the God of Israel as their helper, whose hope is in the Lord their God. He made heaven and earth, the sea, and everything in them. He keeps every promise forever. He gives justice to the oppressed and food to the hungry. The Lord frees the prisoners. The Lord opens the eyes of the blind. The Lord lifts up those who are weighed down. The Lord loves the godly. The Lord protects the foreigners among us. He cares for the orphans and widows, but he frustrates the plans of the wicked. ~Psalm 146:5-9

Yes, we serve a huge God!

Leave a Reply

