достопримечательность

19 06 2013

The Lviv Theatre of Opera and Ballet, which I took during my day off there last month.  This beautiful building, designed and built by a Polish-born, Berlin-trained architect, Zygmunt Gorgolewski.  He won a municipal design competition, and managed to fit the building into the already built city-center with his proposal to enclose the Poltva River underground.  The Theatre and the tree-lined boulevard created by his design are beautiful.

Yesterday in my Russian class, while discussing reasons why people enjoy going on excursions, my teacher told me, “of course, to see достопримечательности.”  Well, she realized I didn’t know the word, достопримечáтельность, which is a noun meaning for an interesting place.  And I couldn’t help but think of my classmate Helen, who’s left for the USA, but who loves these incredible sounding Russian words.

So apparently, its not just the Germans who enjoy scrumptious mouthfuls of syllables in single words.  I guess if we were playing Scrabble again in Russian, at least three of us would need to gang up to play достопримечательность… if it even fits on the board!


Actions

Information

2 responses

21 06 2013
Helen

Yay, Lviv pictures! Are there more? Glad to see you’re updating your blog, and to hear that Russian class’s still chugging along… and thanks for the fun new word! I’ve been slacking quite a bit on my Russian during my travels, but hope to get back in the groove once I hit the US.

21 06 2013
Joel

Are you gonna find a teacher there and keep studying? Enjoy your time in London!

Leave a Reply

