comfort food

26 07 2013

A few weeks ago, our church here in Kyiv hosted a dinner and program to thank the American missionaries who are serving this congregation.  We were asked to bring a favorite dish of food, so I made Baked Lentils with Cheese, from the More-With-Less cookbook, for those who know it.  This is a dish my mom made often when I was growing up, and its become a comfort food for me over the years.  The first time I made this here in Kyiv, just a couple months ago, I remember when I sat down to eat I though, “now why have I made this sooner?  I love this recipe.”

A lot of my Ukrainian friends really liked it, and asked for the recipe, which I’m providing below.  Priyatniva appetite!

Чечевица запеченная с сыром

На 6 порций
190 градусов C
1 час. 15 мин.
Комбинат в мелкой форме для выпечки 23×33 см:
• 500 мл воды
• 400 мл сухого чечевицей
• 1 лавровый лист целом
• 10 мл соль
• 1 мл перец
• 1 мл каждый майоран, шалфей, тимьян
• 2 большие луковицы, нарезанные
• 3 зубчика чеснока, измельчить
• 500 мл консервированных помидоров
Плотно закрыть и выпекать 30 минут.
Раскройте и движение в:
• 2 большие моркови, нарезанные толстыми 30 мл
• 125 мл тонко нарезанный сельдерей
Выпекать покрыта 40 минут, пока овощи не станут мягкими. Движение в:
• 1 зеленый перец, нарезанный (опционально)
• 3 стакана тертого острого сыра чеддер
Выпекать, не накрывая крышкой, 5 минут, пока сыр не расплавится

 

And for those who would like to try it but don’t know Russian, here’s the original version I used:

Baked Lentils with Cheese

Serves 6
375 degrees F (190 degrees C)
1 hr. 15 min.
Combine in shallow 9×13″ baking dish:
•  2 cups water
•  1 3/4 cups dry lentils
•  1 bay leaf
•  2 teaspoons salt
•  1/4 teaspoon pepper
•  1/4 teaspoon each marjoram, sage, thyme
•  2 large onions, chopped
•  3 cloves garlic, minced
•  2 cups canned tomatoes
Cover tightly and bake 30 minutes.
Uncover and stir in:
•  2 large carrots, sliced 1/8″ thick
•  1/2 cup thinly sliced celery
Bake covered 40 minutes until vegetables are tender. Stir in:
•  1 green pepper, chopped (optional)
•  3 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
Bake, uncovered, 5 minutes until cheese melts


Actions

Information

One response

29 07 2013
Matt and Esta Jesch

I LOVE lentils! This sounds so yummy! Thanks for sharing🙂

Leave a Reply

